Walker Blackwell No Longer Available For Support

I saw on Walker’s Instagram that he and another worker at the Jon Cone studio no longer work there. He seemed to be the only one answering questions around here so I’m guessing this resource is going to become less and less valuable. I hope Jon has a plan for providing community support in some other way as I’m just getting into doing Piezography for clients at work and love the results.

I have created a support group on Facebook here: Redirecting...

I have NO claims to being an expert but I find Facebook groups easier in many ways…especially when you need to post screenshots, pictures, etc… If anyone wants to migrate over there, I’ll start accepting members. There are currently none save me.

I’ve been wondering what to do about piezography. It appears we are not going to have printers in the future that we can hack to use third party inks and we are left with maintaining old printers indefinitely. Seeing Walker and Nathanael let go is a whole other can of worms. (Edit: In retrospect, this felt like a poor choice of words. What I mean is I will miss their contributions to this community. Walker was instrumental in helping me troubleshoot some extremely frustrating printer issues and I’ve been inspired by Nathanael to try other printing techniques.)

Sorry to see them go. I have had similar concerns that current and future printers will not support Piezography without unreliable and expensive hardware hacks (or at all), and that puts the future of Cone Studio and Piezography in question. Besides, Jon and Cathy deserve to retire and concentrate on making art. As a back-up plan, I have been exploring printing black and white with Quadtone RIP on the P800 with reasonable (not equivalent) results. But I haven’t yet taken the time to learn to profile paper and ink with Quadtone. (Links to how to do that are welcome.)