Print-Tool - always with the black background?

I’m new to all this so sorry if this is dumb question, but every time I try printing the Limiter.tif (I’m looking start making dig neg’s) it comes out with black background*. This is an astounding waste of ink to start with and no matter what I set the background type to be in the preferences I end up with the printer doing a black background against a US Letter sized paper’s worth.

*note - first time around I did this clear-sheet, but it overloaded the things and it curled way too much to be usable, so now as I try this differently each time I test it first on paper and still get black background no matter what the settings are. Ugh

This has been talked about elsewhere on the forum (and is mentioned in the PiezoDN section of the 2018 Deluxe manual installed with your copy of PiezoDN) but basically what you need to do is this.

1. Make a black image in photoshop that is exactly the same size as your film.
  2. Import into Print-Tool (first image) and set the size to 100%. You will see a “clipping warning” ignore that.
  3. Import your limiter target.
  4. Always leave 2" of space at the bottom of your film clear of any image (other than the black tiff) to allow for no ink on that area.
  5. Curl the corners of the film away from the emulsion (all 4) before printing.

best,
Walker

Many thanks, I’ll give that try.

If I may add to Walker’s reply, do not use Print-Tool’s negative preference features with PiezoDN - they will not behave as intended since they are made for use with standard methods of making digital negatives in which a negative image is sent to the printer. With PiezoDN the quad curve performs the inversion which is why a black border is necessary in order to get a clear (un-inked) margin on film.