Newbie question about printing PiezoDN targets using Print-Tool

When I print a target using Print-Tool (say 129step-Spyder.tif), how do I prevent the surrounding canvas from being printed in black? I usually trim my negatives (or mask them with Rubylith) before making a contact print, so the black canvas just wastes ink. The Print-Tool “Prefs” button offers white and black backgrounds, but these are ignored unless “Negative” is checked, and I understand that it is never appropriate to check “Negative” when printing with Piezography quads. Is the only alternative to open the target in Photoshop and add a black canvas? Sorry for the elementary question, I’m new to Print-Tool.

I’ve written about this before and in excruciating detail, but I have no idea where to find it. So …

There are basically two ways to approach dealing with the border area regardless of whether you are printing a target or any other kind of image. The one thing that is common to both is that you do not use Print-Tools Negative features with PiezoDN. Not ever!

The Simple Way

1. Open the image in Photoshop (or any image editor).
  2. Using the Canvas Size tool, expand the canvas with black to the full size of the sheet you are printing on. (This may need to be done in 2 steps to create the extra trailing edge required by some printers.)
  3. Save a copy with the border if you don’t want to have to do this again.
  4. When you open this image in Print-Tool it will fill the entire page, and what you see as black will be clear and ink-free when printed.
  5. Note that the image can be right-reading. Flip horizontally can be selected and saved as part of a Preset in Print-Tool.

The More Complicated But Also More Flexible Way
You can also accomplish this using the layered layout capabilities of Print-Tool.

1. Create a black image the size and orientation of the full sheet and save as a tif file.
  2. Open this image in Print-Tool.