Error messages when installing - please help

Hi Walker and others -

I’m new to this system and have been trying to install the PiezoDN program on my Mac. The first time I tried to install by clicking the install 3880 command file in the curves folder, I received the following message: “Unable to create curve folder /Library/Printers/QTR/quadtone/Quad3880-PiezoDN.”

So I started over, reinstalled, and now it seems to have installed the curves - I can see them under the drop down menu in QTR/Print Tool. But I get this message at the top: “Couldn’t open /Applications/Piezography/Curves/3880-PiezoDN/3880-PiezoDN-Pos-Master.txt for reading: Permission denied”

Is this normal? If not, how do I fix it?

Thanks!

Christian

Christian,

I just downloaded and installed version 1.8 and see the txt file that is causing your problem. Walker means to delete the printer Quad3880-PiezoDN. But before doing that, why not try deleting the txt file file from Applications/ Piezography/Curves/3800-PiezoDN, and running the install command again. I sort of remember this happening before when I accidentally left a new txt file in the curves folder, which should have only quad files, and attempted to install a new quad. If that doesn’t work, then delete the printer in System Preferences, reinstall using the install command in Piezography/Printer_Installers, and then reinstall the curves, making sure the txt file is gone.

Not sure what you mean by access it through the hard drive. This is all on your hard drive.

Thanks, Keith!

Lol - I know it is all on the hard drive. I think what I was trying to say was: If I remember correctly, QTR has copies of things in two locations/folders on the hard drive. I was just making sure that I didn’t need to access it a different way or through a different folder to delete it.

Will give your suggestions a try and report back.

Ah, I see. :wink:

The other folder you are thinking of is MacHD/Library/Printers/QTR/quadtone/Quad3880-PiezoDN.