Calibration for Ziatype...

I am new to both digital negatives and alternative processes. I have chosen ziatype for my initial dive into alternative processes.

My question is simple. If I calibrate using a formula should I be able to use my curve if I alter my formula slightly; say an extra drop or two of A or B, or by adding a drop or two of <span style=“font-family: ‘Open Sans’, sans-serif; font-size: 14px;”>ammonium dichromate, or change exposure time by a minute or two. Or, should I create a new curve for each combination?</span>

Darrell

You are tailoring your negatives to the process, so any changes you make to your process (including paper) will likely require at least relinearizing to achieve linear results.

Exposure time is something that you will standardize as part of the calibration process. It’s really crucial to do this, and get it right, before getting into the PiezoDN linearization process because changing it more than a very small amount will have a significant effect, especially in shadow rendering. Your goal will be to find the minimum time to reach maximum black. It’s really easy to misjudge this and end up using a longer time than needed which results in over-inking the negative in order to compensate.