about LIMITER Number

Dear Members

I have some questions about PiezoDN.

I’m Japanese, so I’m not good at English.

There is a part which I do not understand in the description of the manual.

First I determined the minimum exposure time for Plutinum Print and printed LIMITER.TIF with that exposure time.

For example, suppose that there are 245 slightly toned parts of the photographic paper.

I do not understand how to calculate LIMIT Number from this number.

There is another question.

In contrast to printing LIMITER.TIF and PiezoDN - 129 step - i1Pro1.tif with no color management in Print - Tool, why use Print color management in normal printing?

Please teach it in English as simple as possible.

My equipment

EPSON 4880

i1Pro2

Dear Yoshifumi. The limiter target is only for the highlights.

To fine minimum time for maximum black simply place OHP Pictorico Ultra Premium Film over a strip of coated paper and expose in increments from under exposure to over exposure. Mark the increments. Where you see the print solarizing it is over exposed. Usually I will go and actually measure these increments with a spectrophotometer because sometimes my eyes can’t tell exactly what is blackest.

Keith (the top contributor on this forum currently) uses the classic Stouffer strip method over the film. This is quicker and can be more precise.

best,

Walker

In contrast to printing LIMITER.TIF and PiezoDN – 129 step – i1Pro1.tif with no color management in Print – Tool, why use Print color management in normal printing?